New Year’s Six Bowl Games Dates Set, CFP Semifinals On January 1

The New Year’s Six bowl games will kick off on December 29 and conclude with the two College Football Playoff semifinals being played on January 1.

College football fans will want to shake off those New Year’s Eve hangovers early on Jan. 1st, as the College Football Playoff semifinal games will take place in Pasadena and New Orleans to help decide who plays in Atlanta for the ultimate prize.

The Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual and the Allstate Sugar Bowl will be the hosts of the semifinal games on the first day of the year, a day later than the semifinals have been played during the past two years.

Joining the two semifinals will be the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl in the new Mercedes-Benz Dome in Atlanta, where the CFP final will take place. The new stadium is taking the place of the Georgia Dome, and will host a couple of marquee matchups during the first weekend of the college football season: Alabama battling Florida State, and then Tennessee taking on the hometown Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets.

The New Year’s Six bowl games will kick off on Friday, Dec. 29 in Arlington, Tex. with the Goodyear Cotton Bowl and continue the next day with the Playstation Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Ariz. and the Capital One Orange Bowl in Miami Gardens, Fla.

MORE: Ranking The Playing Careers Of College Football Head Coaches